Throwback Thursday: Dragon Dog Herd

So when I was 11 or 12 years old, I was obsessed with a certain mythical creature

It wasn’t anything you would find or know about, because I made it up myself.

Troop2

It’s called a Nuvarog, plebs.

It was apparently a wolf’s body with a snake’s face, a lion’s jaws, a cat’s ears, an eagle’s wings, and a dinosaur’s tail. I was a kid, ok?

Well, I was so obsessed, I spent hours making these little sculptures, from sculpey no less.

rogs_03

rogs_02

Sculpey, if you don’t know, never dries. That’s great in most situations, but when making things 0.75 inches tall, balancing on spindly little dog legs, things can get ugly.

I don’t remember how many I threw away, but it was a lot. These were the survivors. I know the black one almost didn’t make it until I got the idea to sit it down to save it from a violent death.

rogs_01

These were miniatures I took pride in. They taught me a steady hand. They taught me how to engineer something to stand on tiny little legs. They are Nuvarogs. (And a wolf.)

Leave a Reply

